Search Surnames

Zearing, Iowa 1956 History

Story Co. Home Page
Page 37 of 255
Our Home Town37

bill of James Meekins for $2.00 for May marshal salary be allowed. Carried.

Council meeting, April 27, 1908—Nathan A. Perry was tendered the job of marshal at a salary of $8.00 per month. This salary to include keeping the crossings clean.

Town Officials, May 1, 1955
Mayor—Brantley Jones
Town Clerk—Loren E. Norman
Town Treasurer—Dale E. Tisdale
Town Marshal—Albert A. Krueger
Town. Council—Claire R. Obenchain, Arthur J. Cook, Earl W. Menzel, H. Vaughn Freeman, Glenn F. McBride
Illinois Grove-Sunset-Zearing

The material for this section of the history was obtained with the aid of Paul Cunningham, Member of Congress. The information was furnished by Wayne C. Grover, Archivist of the United States, and N. R. Abrams, Assistant Postmaster General.

Illinois Grove

The town of Illinois Grove was located at the first road intersection north of the Illinois Grove Cemetery. The Illinois Grove post office was established on September 14, 1857.

PostmasterDate of Appointment
Israel H. Lockwood September 14, 1857
Augustus M. RobertsDecember 8, 1858
John S. AbbottMay 6, 1865
George E. Clark March 29, 1867
Elijah Cox October 14, 1870
John Q. AbbottNovember 18, 1872
Everet E. Farber April 20, 1877
James L. TurnerNovember 9, 1877
David A. TookerMay 26, 1879
Albert W. SquiresJuly 12, 1880

The Sunset post office was established on March 20, 1878. When Charles H. Williams was the postmaster the office was located in the SE¼ of Section 17. Tecie Bainter Ruxton owns the house where the office was located. Tecie said that the sorting case for mail remained in a downstairs bedroom when she lived there. Tecie is living in Zearing in 1956.

Page 37 of 255

© 2011–2019 Mark Christian
[Search Surnames] [Introduction] [Story Co. Home Page ] [Zearing Book Index]